University of Wisconsin-Madison

<< 1 of 18 Pic >>

The University of Wisconsin-Madison (commonly referred to as UW-Madison and locally as Wisconsin or simply Madison) is a four-year, research university in Madison, Wisconsin that offers an extensive selection of bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degree programs. UW-Madison is a public university that was founded in 1848 (the same year Wisconsin became a state) and it is the flagship institution of the University of Wisconsin System. It was the first public university established in the State, and with over 42,000 students (29,000 undergraduate, 9,000 graduate and 3,000 professional studies) it is the largest, public, university in Wisconsin. The University’s campus is just over 930 acres.

Undergraduate and graduate degree programs at UW-Madison are offered through one of the University’s 20 academic schools and colleges. The University awards more bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees than most other colleges or universities in the state. In 2010, UW-Madison awarded just over 6,000 bachelor’s degrees and 3,300 professional and graduate degrees. UW-Madison has a faculty of just over 2,000. The University has more faculty members than most colleges in the United States have students. Bachelor’s degrees are offered in over 130 fields of study. Master’s degrees are offered in over 150 fields of study. And doctoral degrees are offered in over 100 fields of study. UW-Madison has one of the most extensive selections of degree programs of any higher education institution in the United States.

The Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education (developed by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching) classifies the University of Wisconsin-Madison as a research university with “very high research activity”. In fact, UW-Madison is one of the largest, research institutions in the United States. In 2010, it expended more than 1 billion dollars on research and research related activities–more than almost all other research universities in the nation.

UW-Madison athletic teams compete as the Wisconsin Badgers in the NCAA’s Division I Big Ten Conference. UW competes in over 25 sports and since 1939 has won national championships in boxing (8), men’s basketball (1), men’s cross country (5), women’s cross country (2), men’s ice hockey (6), women’s ice hockey (4), men’s indoor track & field (1) and men’s soccer (1). Since 1900, UW-Madison’s women’s rowing team has earned 30 national titles. Intercollegiate athletics is a big part of the culture and student life at UW-Madison.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *